On rare occassions, it may be appropriate to delete an appointment.
In the Appointments Module, select an appointment. In the toolbar, click Delete.
Appointments should not be deleted without considering how they will be tracked.
- If the appointment was missed or was cancelled without 24 hrs notice, then use Break Appointment.
- After breaking the appointment, consider sending it to the Unscheduled List for followup.
- If the patient really does not want followup, make sure the appointment is still in the Planned Appointments list so that it will show in the Planned Appointment Tracker.
- A recall appointment can be deleted because it will continue to show on the Recall List for followup.
- Completed appointments cannot be deleted if procedures are attached and Prevent changes to completed appointment with completed procedures preference is enabled.