The Merge Patients tool can be used to merge duplicate patient accounts into one.
In the Main Menu, click Tools, Misc Tools, Merge Patients.
Patient to merge into: Click Change to select the patient accounts that will remain. If you bridge to an imaging software, the patient account linked to the images should be retained.
Patient to merge from: Click Change to select the patient accounts that will be merged into the top patient.
Click Merge. A message will show when the merge is successful.
Patient first name, last name, and birthdate do not need to match. If the patient first name, last name, and birthdate do not match, a warning message will pop up. Click Yes to merge the patients anyway, or No to cancel.
Patient merges are permanent and cannot be undone.
After the merge:
- The status of the merged from patient will change to Archived. The patient can still be accessed via the Select Patient window by selecting Show Archived/Deceased/Hidden Clinics and Show Merged Patients. The merged patient will only show in the Family Module or Account Module when the merged patient is selected.
- Duplicate information (e.g. insurance, recall) will need manual cleanup.
- Information from the merged patient (such as address, phone number, etc) will not transfer to kept patient. This information must be re-entered and verified if it differs.
- If user attempts to schedule an appointment for the merged from patient, he will be prompted to switch patients.
- History for both the merge from and to patient can be viewed in the Audit Trail.
- If the merge to patient is moved into another family, the merge from patient is moved as well.
- If the merge from patient was in a superfamily, they will be removed from the superfamily.
- As a second step, consider deleting the patient in the Family module.