Close Payment Plan
In a Payment Plan, at the lower left, click Close Plan.
When a patient is no longer paying on a Patient Payment Plan or Dynamic Payment Plan, close it to no longer show in the Payment Plan grid. There will still be record of the payment plan and it can be reopened if needed. We recommend closing payment plans no longer being paid on, even if there are charges still due.
Closing out a plan does the following:
When pay plan logic is Age Credits and Debits, the payment plan will no longer show in the Payment Plans grid and any outstanding principal amounts will be added as a PayPlan Debit line item in the patient account ledger (with a note of Close Out Charge).
When pay plan logic is Age Credits Only or Do Not Age, any balances remaining will be come due now. Once the payment plan balance = 0, the plan will no longer show in the grid.
During the update to version 16.2, all existing payment plans that have a zero balance and no future charges are automatically closed.
There is also a tool to automatically close all payment plans with a zero balance and no future charges. This is useful if you have payment plans showing in the Payment Plan Report that have zero balance, no future charges, but are not closed.
In the Main Menu, click Tools, Misc Tools, Auto-Close Payment Plans.
Click OK to close all plans that meet the criteria.
Payment plans that have been closed are still available to view or to reopen if needed. Only open payment plans can be edited; changing historical information is not recommended.
To show closed payment plans in the Payment Plan grid:
All closed plans for the patient will list in the Payment Plan grid in a light text color.
To reopen a closed payment plan:
Only past activity shows in the amortization schedule. To reinstate the payment plan, you will need to create a new amortization schedule.