Home User Manual Discussion Forum Search

Create Tasks

Tasks can be added to a Task List or sent to a user Inbox. When a user is subscribed to a task list, new tasks added to that list will pop up. Manage tasks in the Tasks Area.

Create a Task

  1. There are two ways to create a task.
    • In the Tasks area, click Add Task. To add the task to a specific task list, highlight the task list first.
    • In the main Toolbar, click To Task List to attach the selected patient to the task, and send to a specific list. Select the Task List, then click OK.



  1. Enter new task information in the description field, or add a note to the existing task.
    • New: A task starts out marked New. Click in the checkbox to unflag it and remove the New status.
    • Done: When a task is complete, mark it as Done. Once done, a task disappears from the task list. A task that is marked done will automatically be marked not done if it is sent to another task list or a note is added to the task. To mark a task done from the Chart Module, right click on the task in the Progress Notes and select 'Set Complete'.
    • Entry/Finished Dates: These fields are filled in automatically, but can also be quickly set by clicking Now.
    • Reminder: Tasks are not reminders by default and have a default type of NoReminder. To change a task to be a reminder, select a type from the dropdown. See Task Reminders.
    • From User: The name of the user who initiated this task. To change the user, click […].
    • Task List: This field is filled in automatically and cannot be changed here. If a task list was selected first, the task list name appears. If this task is being sent to an inbox, it may be empty until you click Send To.
    • Task Priority: Assign a priority to the task. Priority types can be added in Definitions: Task Priorities.
    • History: View changes made to tasks throughout its lifetime. Only available if the user has TaskEdit Permission.
    • Description: Enter the task description. This Text Box supports right click options:
      • Right click wiki page links to open or create from a task description. Enable these features in Wiki setup. To create a wiki link in a task, use double brackets around the page title: [[Example Wiki Link]].
      • Quick Paste Notes for tasks must have a category of Task, or they will not work as expected if using the ? shortcut.
    • Auto Note: Add an Auto Note to the task description.
    • Notes: If this is an existing task, click Add to enter comments or notes. To quickly copy the text of the original task, and any notes, click Copy. Right click a website URL in task notes to open it in an internet browser.
    • Object Type: Attach a specific patient or appointment to the task.
      • None: A regular task with no attachments.
      • Patient: These tasks show in the Open Tasks or Patient Tasks tab. Click Change to select and attach a patient.
      • Appointment: These tasks are associated with an Appointment. Click Change to select a patient, then select the appointment.
    • Change: Attach a patient or appointment to the task. The attached item is dependent on the object type.
    • Go To: Make the attached patient active. If appointment is the object type, jump to the patient's appointment.
    • Copy: Copy the text of the original task and any notes.
    • Add: Add a note to the task. This is a useful tool to track a task's status as it gets sent back and forth between users.

There is a splitter between the description text area and the Notes area. Drag the splitter up or down to shrink or expand the description area.

  1. When all task information is entered, you have three options:
    • Click OK to send the task to the specified task list. Everyone subscribed to the task list will be notified of the new task.
    • Click Send To, then select an inbox to send the task to.
    • Click Reply to send the task to the last person who sent it.

Tasks attached to patients also show in the patient's Chart module, Progress Notes.

If a task is left open on the screen, it will automatically refresh if an edit is made or a note is added by another user.

Popups
Whenever a user is subscribed to a task list and a task is added, a popup window shows, along with a chime sound. To block popups and chime at a user level, click Block Popups. Popups will be blocked for all subscribed lists except for the user's inbox. This preference will be remembered as the default on a per user basis. If blocked, remember to check for new tasks under the New for User tab.

Tracking New by User
There is an option to track new/viewed status by individual user. See Task Setup for more details.

Task History
Users with the TaskEdit permission can view a history of changes made to tasks. Click History.

Create Date: The original date of the task.
Edit Date: The date the change was made.
Editing User: The user who made the change.
Changes: A description of the change.

 

Open Dental Software 1-503-363-5432